Rondo Quartet 3/3. | Haydn, Janaček, Cage


Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in D major (Op. 76/5)
John Cage: String Quartet in Four Parts
Leos Janaček: On an Overgrown Path (arranged for string quartet by Jarmil Burghauser)

  • Áron Dóczi - violin
  • Dávid Pintér - violin
  • Péter Tornyai - viola
  • Orsolya Mód - violoncello

For the 2018/2019 season, the Rondo Quartet returns to the BMC Library to perform a three-part concert series. All three performances will feature one piece from the first quartet componist, Joseph Haydn's last complete cycle, the Erdődy Quartets. Haydn's quartets will be complemented by those of Janaček, including a string arrangement of a piano cycle, all intriguing due to their treatment of structure and arrangement. Finally, quartets by Ives, Copland and Cage will showcase the ideas American composers had about this particularly European chamber music genre.

Free entry! Seating is on a first-come, first-served basis.

2019 May 03 Friday