Ávéd János 12 (HU)

Opus Jazz Club
  • Veronika Harcsa - vocals
  • János Ávéd - saxophone, arrangements, compositions
  • László Fassang - Hammond organ, piano
  • Máté Pozsár - piano, analog synthesizer
  • Péter Ajtai - double bass
  • Attila Gyárfás - drums

Gallery tickets will be available on the spot even if the online ticketing system tells you that the show is sold out. Please order your drinks downstairs at the bar if you are seated on the gallery.

“Composition is just improvisation in slow motion,” said Arnold Schoenberg. “Composition is slowed-down improvisation, and improvisation is sped-up composition,” said Wayne Shorter. This time, saxophonist János Ávéd explores the full spectrum of the 12 tones and the relationship between composition and improvisation with such excellent musicians as Veronika Harcsa, László Fassang, Máté Pozsár, Péter Ajtai and Attila Gyárfás. In 2013, John O'Gallagher fused Webern's music into the idioms of New York contemporary jazz, testing the applicability of Anton Webern's compositional methods to improvisation. This theme is also at the heart of János Ávéd's research. Is it possible to spontaneously create twelve-tone musical structures while maintaining the integrity of the compositional technique? How far does improvised music remain in Webern's style? Should it remain in this style at all? Is there such a thing as twelve-note jazz?

Tickets are available for 2800 HUF on the spot, online at, and at InterTicket Jegypont partners across Hungary.

Table reservations are automatically added during ticket purchase.
Please note that if you purchase an odd number of seats, you might have to share the table with others, especially if the concert is sold out.
For the best dining experience please arrive around 7pm.
We hold reservations until 8pm.

For more information, please call +36 1 216 7894


2023 May 05 Friday