CAFe Budapest | Human Voice • 2.1

Concert Hall

Béla Faragó: József Attila-dalok (Attila József Songs) 
Béla Faragó: Pormacska-dalok és -táncok (Dustball Songs and Dances)

Luciano Berio: Folk Songs

  • Katalin Károlyi [1,3] – voice
  • István Kerek [1] – violin
  • Péter Bársony [3] – viola
  • Tamás Zétényi [3] – cello
  • Berta Bánki [3] – flute
  • Péter Szűcs [3] – clarinet
  • Béla Faragó [1] – piano
  • Anasztázia Razvaljajeva [3] – harp
  • Boglárka Fábry, Szabolcs Joó [3] – percussion
  • Saint Ephraim Quartet [2]
  • The members of the quartet:
  • Tamás Bubnó
  • Márk Bubnó
  • Edgár Balázs
  • Péter Tóth
  • Conductor: Katalin Károlyi

Last year Béla Faragó released a CD with an impressive selection of vocal works he wrote between 1985–2009. Two of the longer cycles, the Attila József Songs and the Dust Kitten Songs and Dances will now be performed at the concert. The latter collects the choruses of Metamorphoses, the opera the composer based on Franz Kafka’s novella.

Drawing on Italian, English, French, Armenian, and Azerbaijani folk songs, Luciano Berio’s cycle is like a traditional arrangement of folk material, and is quite unlike the avant-garde music of the 1960s, of which Berio himself was a torchbearer. But it seems that the human voice, the essential feelings, and the allure of the performing artist’s personality, have a universal appeal, and unsurprisingly, Berio’s composition has become a classic of 20th-century vocal literature.

Tickets are available for 2000 HUF on the spot,
online at, and at InterTicket Jegypont partners across Hungary.

An event jointly organized with CAFe Budapest.

2019 October 07 Monday