Emblematic works by Debussy and hungarian masterpieces - 100th anniversary of Debussy’s death

Concert Hall

Zoltán Kodály:
Meditation on a motive of Debussy - for piano (1907)

Csaba Szabó:
Little suite - for piano
Four miniatures - for piano
Dance with the Fate - musical thoughts on Endre Ady's poem - for piano

Claude Debussy:
Sonata in G minor for violin and piano L.148.
I. Allegro vivo
II. Intermède. Fantastique et léger
III. Finale. Très animé


Zoltán Kodály:
Duo for violin and cello op.7.

Claude Debussy:
Piano trio in G major L.5
I. Andantino con moto allegro
II. Scherzo - Intermezzo. Moderato con allegro
III. Andante espressivo
IV. Finale. Appassionato


Commemorating the 100th anniversary of Claude Debussy’s death, the concert features emblematic works of 20th century chamber music – the pinnacles of technique and mastery. The oeuvre of Csaba Szabó (1936-2003) was characterized by András Szőllősy as „a diamond that radiates a dual shine: modernity and timelessness. If someone in the not too distant future will be able to write the history of Hungarian music culture in Transylvania, Csaba Szabó’s works may very well be placed on the most brilliant pages.” Szabó’s three virtuoso piano pieces will be followed by two works by Zoltán Kodály: a Duo for violin and cello which debuted on this day 100 years ago, and his Meditation on a motive of Debussy, composed in 1907 while under the spell of Debussy’s modern sound. To this day, Debussy remains the greatest poet in French music; following his Sonata in G minor for violin and piano, his Piano trio in G major will close the concert, a piece once thought to be lost – only to be rediscovered after 100 years.

Tickets are available for 2000 HUF on the spot,
online at, and at InterTicket Jegypont partners across Hungary.

Tickets with a 50% student discount is available on the spot.

2018 May 07 Monday