Kurtág 96 | Zwiegespräch – A tribute to Márta and György Kurtág

Concert Hall

György Kurtág: Ligatura Y – for string trio 
J. S. Bach: Organ Choral from the Cantata „Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit” (Actus Tragicus), BWV 106 (transcription by Sébastien Vichard for string trio, clarinet, and piano)
György Kurtág: Az hit – for clarinet
J. S. Bach: Sicilienne from Violin Sonata in G minor, BWV 1001
György Kurtág: Doloroso – for viola
György Kurtág: Hommage à JSB – for string trio
W. A. Mozart: Clarinet Quintet in A major, K 581 – Larghetto
Benoît Sitzia: Hommage à György Kurtág – pour Odile – for viola
György Kurtág: Beának, mély bánatában – for piano
György Ligeti: Cello Sonata – Dialogo
György Kurtág: Hommage à Tristan – for viola and cello
Robert Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze Op. 6 No. 5 – Einfach (Transcription by Benoît Sitzia for string quartet and clarinet)
György Kurtág: Márta ligaturája (Transcription by Benoît Sitzia for string quartet)
György Kurtág: Virág az ember... – Mijakónak – for string trio
György Kurtág: Márta ligaturája, version II – for cimbalom
Benoît Sitzia: Eine Blume in dir bleibt – for piano
György Kurtág and György Kurtág Jr.: Zwiegespräch – for string quartet and synthetisers

  • Eun Joo Lee – violin
  • Catherine Jacquet – violin
  • Odile Auboin – viola
  • Isabelle Veyrier – cello
  • Alain Billard – clarinet
  • Péter Kiss – piano
  • György Kurtág Jr. – keyboards and electronic instruments
  • Miklós Lukács – cimbalom

Celebrating György Kurtág's 96th birthday and the memory of Márta Kurtág, a group of esteemed soloists from the French contemporary classical music scene present an evening of chamber music at Budapest Music Center. The program, originally debuting in Paris last year, celebrates the originality, depth and poetry of Kurtág’s oeuvre. Artists from Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble Ars Nova, and the French Radio Philharmonic Orchestra will perform works by Bach, Mozart, and Schumann beside Kurtág's own music – composers whose music provided inspiration and solace to Márta and György Kurtág. A musical dialogue between father and son, Zwiegespräch, composed by György Kurtág and György Kurtág Jr., will also be performed at the concert. Between the pieces, video footage will evoke the touching duets of György and Márta.

All tickets are sold out.


2022 February 18 Friday