Ligeti 100 | Miklós Lukács Cimbiosis Trio & Ligeti Ensemble | Modern Art Orchestra Plays Ligeti

Concert Hall

György Ligeti: Ten pieces for Wind Quintet
Zoltán Jeney: Búcsú Ligeti Györgytől (for cimbalom solo)

Members of Modern Art Orchestra reflect on works by György Ligeti:
Four Wedding Dances
Sonatina for piano four hands
Musica ricercata
Allegro for piano four hands
Hungarian Rock (Chaconne)
Car Horn Prelude

  • Cimbiosis Trio:
  • Miklós Lukács – cimbalom
  • István Baló – drums
  • György Orbán – double bass
  • Winds of Ligeti Ensemble:
  • Orsolya Kaczander – flute
  • Dániel Ella – oboe
  • Csaba Klenyán – clarinet
  • Bálint Mohai – bassoon
  • János Benyus – horn
  • Modern Art Orchestra
  • Artistic director: Kornél Fekete-Kovács
  • Guest:
  • László Fassang – Hammond organ
  • Moment's Notice Trio:
  • Miklós Lukács – cimbalom
  • László Gőz – bass trumpet
  • György Kurtág Jr. – electronics

This evening, artists knowing no boundaries will take Ligeti's legacy into their own hands and shape it further. In the first set, two small ensembles will demonstrate that the inspiration of the Hungarian composer's oeuvre is still present in contemporary jazz. The musicians of the Ligeti Ensemble under the auspices of Concerto Budapest will play the challenging Ten Pieces for Wind Quintet, which will be answered by Miklós Lukács' Cimbiozis Trio, blurring the (often thin) line between contemporary music and jazz. In the second half of the concert, the Modern Art Orchestra continues its exploration and re-creation of 19th- and 20th-century Hungarian music: after their Liszt, Bartók and Kodály projects, the orchestra's soloists – themselves composers – prepare compositions reflecting on Ligeti's works. Their sources are mainly early works, which Ligeti later distanced himself from because of their Bartókian models or the way folk music was ordered to be used at that time. The members of the Modern Art Orchestra thus not only present Ligeti's world in the guise of jazz chamber music, but also attempt to reconcile the temporal and stylistic planes: their fictional interpretation presents that the composer's pre- and post-emigration compositions dp not mutually exclude each other, but might even be fused. The orchestra also invited guests to the line-up: the versatile László Fassang enriches the sound with the colour of the Hammond organ, while in the playing of Moment's Notice Trio, it is the inspirational power of the moment that captures the listener.

Tickets are available for 2900 HUF on the spot,
online at,
and at InterTicket Jegypont partners across Hungary.


2023 May 24 Wednesday